Happy New Year everyone!!! I hope everyone had a great holiday break. I did here, but now we are back in action!
Before I get into all the new law stuff, I’ve had a lot of question about the LATimes’s Daily Pilot 103 list, as we’ve been on the 103 Most Influential for the last few years. This has actually been discontinued, so sadly we won’t get their end-of-year evaluation any longer. But it was fun while it lasted, and we intend to continue pushing for the influence of good laws– list or no list!
Now, let’s cut to the chase– here are the new laws in 2018 that you should be aware of:
1) Legalized marijuana Newport Beach voted with the rest of OC and California to legalize marijuana. Sadly for Newport residents who are in need of this– even if their doctor has recommended it– our city council has decided they know more about your health than your doctor does, and have made it illegal to grow or sell, despite a voter proposition to the contrary. This is very much illegal for them to do (voter initiatives trump city council ordinances), but unless someone has the time, money, and inclination to sue them, it’s going to remain a law on the books. (If you do have the time, money, and inclination to sue them, let me know!)
2) GUN LAWS. Oooooh, touchy subject in Newport, the bastion of Republicanism but still with plenty of anti-gunners! Here are the infringements you need to be aware of if you enjoy exercising the only amendment which says “shall not be infringed”:
2.1) Starting Jan 1., criminals must give up their guns when they are convicted of a serious crime.
2.2) Gun dealers will need to get a certificate of eligibility from the California Department of Justice to verify they passed a background check.
2.3) Online ammunition purchases will be shipped to a licensed vendor for transactions, meaning they will no longer ship to a buyer’s home. You may also not bring ammo in from another state.
Some laws coming into effect from last year:
2.4) If you built your gun at home, you’ve now got to put a serial number on it. Even if you built it 50 years ago. You’ve got a couple of years on this, but it has to be completed by Jan 1, 2019 (AB 857)
2.5) If you want ammo after July 1, 2018, you must obtain a license to purchase it in California. Bringing in ammo from other states is illegal unless you have a “transportation license”. Yes, seriously.
3) IMMIGRATION. California is now officially a Sanctuary State, meaning law enforcement is forbidden to ask for immigration status in a routine investigation.
4) MINIMUM WAGE. The state minimum wage will increase to $10.50 per hour for businesses with 25 or fewer employees and to $11 per hour for those with 26 or more employees.
Be safe in 2018… the revenuers are out there!