City Council Livestream

The city council meeting starts every 2nd and 4th Tuesday at 7pm. You can view the agendas and the live-stream of the council session right here, or view past sessions, here (or older stuff, here).

 

Diane Dixon – Councilmember, District 1 ddixon@newportbeachca.gov
Brad Avery – Councilmember, District 2 bavery@newportbeachca.gov
Duffy Duffield – Mayor, District 3 DDuffield@newportbeachca.gov
Kevin Muldoon – Councilmember, District 4 kmuldoon@newportbeachca.gov
Jeff Herdman – Councilmember, District 5 jherdman@newportbeachca.gov
Scott Peotter, Councilmember, District 6 speotter@newportbeachca.gov
Will O’Neill – Mayor Pro Tem, District 7 woneill@newportbeachca.gov

Want to see the district map? Click here: http://nbgis.newportbeachca.gov/gispub/MapCatalog/pdf_maps/council_districts_11X17.pdf

Planning Tracking Tables: http://www.newportbeachca.gov/government/departments/community-development-/planning-division/general-plan-codes-and-regulations/charter-section-423-tracking-tables

Map of Tracking Tables: http://www.newportbeachca.gov/PLN/General_Plan/Figures/FigLU03_StatisticalAreaMap_17x11color_web.pdf

Council Policy Table: http://www.newportbeachca.gov/government/city-council/council-policy-manual

 

Some interesting council facts:
1) from 1906 until 1940, there were only 5 councilmembers.
2) from 1942 until 1954, there were 6 councilmembers.
3) from 1955 onward, there have been 7 councilmembers.

4) After 1926, the “President” title went away, and heads of the city began being called “Mayor”.
5) In 1966, the “Mayor Pro Tem” position was created.
6) Oddly, there were two mayors in 1948 and in 1952